Tag: England

Kings No More

Kings No More

For a recent collaborative project, I re-imagined the events leading up to the Battle of Fulford, in 1066, and pondered the fate of the northern earls who fought there.  My interest in this episode? Apart from an opportunity to join some wonderful authors on an intriguing project, it was that these earls were led by […]

The Darkest Hour

The Darkest Hour

The Darkest Hour by Tony Schumacher Blurb: “In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible—some kind of redemption London, 1946. […]

Announcement via the Society of Authors and Hunter S. Jones

Announcement via the Society of Authors and Hunter S. Jones

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT For Immediate Release June 12, 2015 Atlanta, GA – Hunter S. Jones announced today that the prestigious Society of Authors based in London, England, has elected her into membership, effective immediately. Her membership is based on the recent success of her historical literary work, Phoenix Rising: A novel of Anne Boleyn, published by […]

Watch the Lady #SummerMustRead

Watch the Lady #SummerMustRead

UPDATE: Elizabeth Fremantle will be hosting a Facebook Q&A next week, on 6/16/2015 from 7-9pm UK time (2-4pm EST). For easy reference, you can find her Facebook page here:  Elizabeth Fremantle Author From “a brilliant new player in the court of royal fiction” (People), comes the mesmerizing story of Lady Penelope Devereux—the daring young beauty […]

#Tudor Tales in Castles, Customs, and Kings

#Tudor Tales in Castles, Customs, and Kings

by Debra Brown Lovers of the Tudor times often know the leading lords and ladies well. But what of some of the others? What of the last daughter of Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, Bridget of York, whose father died in her early years leaving the family to seek sanctuary in Westminster? Bridget also lost […]

The Nun Who Stood Up to Cromwell by @TudorScribe

The Nun Who Stood Up to Cromwell by @TudorScribe

by Nancy Bilyeau Historical fiction set in the Tudor era, whether it’s a novel like Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, or a mystery like Dissolution by C.J. Sansom, depicts a Catholic kingdom riven by monastic corruption, a system dying out as it pleaded for reform. In my years of research into the Dissolution of the […]

WOLF HALL, WHAT ARE THEY WEARING AND WHY? by Elizabeth Fremantle

WOLF HALL, WHAT ARE THEY WEARING AND WHY? by Elizabeth Fremantle

The way we dress says something about who we are and so it was for the Tudors only more so because what people wore, especially in the royal court, often held symbolic significance and also demonstrated status. The Tudors were an upstart family with a tenuous claim to the throne and so the outward display […]

HOW TO HOST A TUDOR-THEMED DINNER PARTY by Alison Weir

HOW TO HOST A TUDOR-THEMED DINNER PARTY by Alison Weir

Alison Weir. When she became my friend on Facebook, I cried. This lady writes history books which are so well written they read as easily as fiction. When I visit the U.K., I haunt book stores, looking for U.K. First Editions of her books, to correspond with the U.S. First Editions I own. She has […]

All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove